History is Art! Take that, Sculpting! Part I.

In College, I double majored in Theatre and History. At a glance, these two disciplines feel very different; one very expressive, emotionally driven that makes use of the body as a tool, and another that aims to discover why the world is the way it is, why people were and are by studying facts and evidence. But college is, in my opinion, breaking down things you thought you understood about the disciplines you study and leaving them broken. This allows the student to piece together just why Theatre is Theatre or History is History without having to glue everything back together. There is not solid answer; as we learn, the definition changes. Theatre and History are not so different. Theatre is really a bit of everything in some way shape or form; as an actor I must know the history of not only the piece I’m performing but the period the piece is set in. I play therapist and analyze my character, and if my character is a scientist then I better damn well learn the field he is an expert in. The same would be expected if he was a mathematician or Alligator Farmer.

Alas, poor Yorick, the Battle of Yorktown was fought on October 19, 1781! Look alive man, this is important!

 

The biggest difference, I think, is that Theatre is, without question, a form of art. History differs in this respect as it is not usually considered art. But can it be? The image of a scholar pouring over letters and maps, piecing together events and opinions does not inspire artistically the same way an image of Picasso furiously sketching and painting his next work does. But can’t History be an art? My senior thesis class in college looked at historical films, everything from Saving Private Ryan to Enemy at the Gates, to see if they were viable forms of history. We looked at art as an effective way to teach history, what about history as an effective way to express art? And does that make it art?

Bernard Bailyn, in his new book Sometimes an Art: Nine Essays Concerning Hisotry aims to answer these questions. While all nine essays in the collection are not specifically about History as an art, they are all not only interesting but, in some way, contribute to the discussion. The question that then remains is: what is Bernard Bailyn’s verdict? Should we throw History in with Art, Music, Acting, Dancing, Juggling, Magic Tricks, Sketching naked dudes and ladies, and Writing novels?

Is History Art?

Bernard Bailyn Da Vinci Fosse Olivier.

Bernard Bailyn, 92 years old, Takes on 50 Shades Of Grey: We’ve now sold 238 copies of 50 Shades of Grey. In comparison, we’ve sold two copies of Sometimes an Art. I don’t think we’ve sold more copies of the first three books I’ve read for this challenge combined than we have 50 Shades of Grey.

The Vorrh vs 50 Shades of Grey, an update:

Well, the Vorrh has sold 3 copies since its release. While it has not overtaken 5o Shades, it is catching up! Slowly but surely….

 

Books in Social Media:

Someone posted this quiz on Facebook the other day. Go ahead and take the quiz, it will only take a moment.

Here are some thoughts I had while taking the quiz.

-Who’s going to pick ‘an office’ as a place to spend their summer?

-I love adjusting!

-What the hell is a barong?

-Deciding between shells help pick a book. Wonderful. I should use that more often when recommending books at the store.

-I can see it now. “I’m looking for something really great to read, what do you recommend?” “I have one question: Shells, or Starfish. Oh, Starfish? War and Peace.”

Oh, this starfish? Maybe you’d like a book with more pictures.

I’m unsure as to whether or not this quiz was supposed to be tongue-in-cheek or not, but either way, I’m calling it a failure. To be fair to buzzfeed, they did publish an article with some interesting and well-thought Summer road trip books.

I would only add my perennial summer favorite, Pete the Cat and His Friend The Lorax in Mexico: An Exegesis, but otherwise there are some interesting picks on the list.

 

Check in for Part II!

Leave a comment